3 weeks post op, Donor area still looks pretty bad

bcl124

Hey everyone, recently had a 700 graft FUE procedure done at a pretty reputable clinic in NY, however, like the title says.. this is now 3 weeks post OP and the donor area still looks pretty bad. after a quick Google search every other result that popped up claimed the donor area should go back to normal after 5 or so days. just wondering if this is normal or not. 

Obviously I have reached out to the clinic that worked on me before coming here and am awaiting their response, but in the meantime I figured I'd see if I can get anyone here who's had experience with FUE to weight in on it for me.

I'm gonna wait it out and see if it'll heal more.. but 3 weeks post op is definitely starting to get to the point where the worry sets in. 

20210701_112554_capture.jpg

• Administrators

The donor takes months to heal, there is shock loss that can occur. Give it time.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Do you have immediate post-op pics to compare with where you are now?  

Dr. G: 1,000 grafts (FUT) 2008

Dr. Paul Shapiro: 2,348 grafts (FUT) 2009 ~ 1,999 grafts (FUT) 2011 ~ 300 grafts (Scar Reduction) 2013

Dr. Konior: 771 grafts (FUT) 2015 ~ 558 grafts (FUT) 2017 ~ 1,124 grafts (FUE) 2020

My Hair Transplant Journey with Shapiro Medical Group