Anyone have experience with small hairs post op, a few mm, not growing?

NW8

I had my transplant about a month ago and I have a few small hairs a couple mm long that are thick but they didn't shed and haven't grown at all. Are these dead follicles or can I expect some of these to shed and start growing. 

I've read posts where after a few months people say these are dead follicles but I know I am still early in the process. I am wonder what your experiences are with these. 

Edited by NW8

• NW8 changed the title to Anyone have experience with small hairs post op, a few mm, not growing?
  • Administrators

There are a lot of people who claim there are 'stuck' follicles that never shed or grow. My thoughts are that they are dead follicles that somehow got buried into the scalp. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

2 hours ago, Melvin- Moderator said:

There are a lot of people who claim there are 'stuck' follicles that never shed or grow. My thoughts are that they are dead follicles that somehow got buried into the scalp. 

This dis-concerning as I have a good amount of these I'm almost 1 month in after transplant. 

Edited by NW8

I've had a few of these "stuck" follicles throughout the years. Unfortunately, for me at least, if they didn't grow immediately after the procedure at all and just stayed in the scalp, they were not viable grafts. Eventually they fell or could be pulled out with no regrowth. 

Bosley 11-2016 FUE - 1,407 grafts

Dr. Diep 09-2017 FUE - 2,024 grafts

Dr. Konior 03-2020 FUE - 2,076 grafts