Using beard hairs for your hair transplant?

If you use your beard hairs for grafts that are placed on your head via FUE will it leave visible scars on your jawline and chin? I once read that area heals differently and the scar might not be visible at all... anyone know much about this?

• Administrators

I don’t believe that’s true, any wound that heals will produce a scar. The scars may be less visible because no one is really looking under your chin. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Chin and jawline it may be visible.  Scarring is there but limited if it is under the chin, most folks may not see it in that location as it really not an area the eues focus on much, but there will be scarring. Depends on size of punch used too.  Could be noticed close up.  For some folks it shows more than others.  Speaking from experience and also friends who have done this.  

On a side note, if working on hairline keep beard and nape hairs far away.  Could be used maybe for crown, fill scars, or random filler hair.  In general, Yield is not that good either.

best of luck

• Like 1

8 hours ago, Sean said:

Chin and jawline it may be visible.  Scarring is there but limited if it is under the chin, most folks may not see it in that location as it really not an area the eues focus on much, but there will be scarring. Depends on size of punch used too.  Could be noticed close up.  For some folks it shows more than others.  Speaking from experience and also friends who have done this.