Propecia Concerns

Bill - Seemiller

My one concern about Propecia. My wife and I haven't been trying to conceive so I haven't been worrying about it...but when the time comes:

1. Do I have to stop taking Propecia when trying to conceive?

2. Can there be complications/problems trying to concieve or after conception using Propecia?

Please advise. Thanks.

Bill

Bill,

I don't believe so my friend but, If I were you, I'd call H&W or a derm for advice on this.

Hairbank

1st HT 1-18-05 - 1200 FUT's

2nd HT 2-15-06 - 3886 FUT's Dr. Wong

3rd HT 4-24-08 - 2415 FUT's Dr. Wong

GRAND TOTAL: 7501 GRAFTS

current regimen: 1.25mg finasteride every other day

My Hair Loss Weblog

Disclaimer: I'm not a Doctor (and have never played one on TV ;) ) and have no medical training. Any information I share here is in an effort to help those who don't like hair loss.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propecia

check out the side effects here regarding birth defects.

HT2 2570 grafts Dr Feller

HT 2350 grafts Dr Epstein

Finax 1mg per day

nizoral 2% 3/week

MSM 3000 mg / day

TOTAL GRAFTS 4920

http://hair-restoration-info.com/eve/forums?a=albumtopic&TOPIC_OID=6751014913&f=2566060861

Guest Cousin_It

Bill...

First of all Merck issues no warning to those trying to conceive, that being said from everything I have read and heard the best recommendations would be to:

1-Stop the medication for one week prior to any attempts at conceiving

2-When not trying to conceive or after conception always wear a condom (if you are on Propecia)

Naturally the other warnings associated with Propecia, ie not having your wife handle any of the pills goes without saying.

So far no birth defects have been attributable to the use of Propecia if proper precautions are taken as indicated.

Bill,

That is great you are trying to have a child, it will change your life for the better! Good luck and have fun trying!