17 hour flight day after surgery advisable?

I'm talking Belgium -> Australia. The flight is anywhere from 17 - 20 hours so definately long haul.

After FUE is it ok to fly this distance 24 hours post surgery. Or should I wait another day? (Or does it even make a difference?)

My original plan was to have surgery, rest that night, hopefully check in with the clinic in the morning for a quick check and possible wash and fly in the afternoon.

No, it's not advisable. You have so much invested, why not take it easy, low stress, keep it clean and damp, ect. It's much harder to do that on a plane for 20 hours.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

Quick flights under 4 or 5 hours are no biggies, but long flights sound like a needless risk, I'd just chill in a hotel for a day and take it easy before embarking on a long flight, you'll need to be careful how you sleep on the plane for such a long journey, you don't want to dislodge grafts.

Hair loss patient and transplant veteran. Once a Norwood 3A.

Received 2,700 grafts with coalition doctor on 8/13/2010

Received 2,380 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 9/30/2011

Received 1,820 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 7/28/2016

Yea; wait at least one day - wear a sterilized or clean bandanna on flight back and be careful about pressure on your head.

If you can wait two days after that is even better.

Of course you can fly back the day after surgery but you might be miserable as all get out. Not a fun way to spend 30+ hours door to door, right?

With FUE it's better and easier than FUT obviously - but if you are a warrior and can gut it out you can do it but be extremely careful.

Thanks for the advice guys.