Sick and Tired of Balding

I've been losing my hair since I was 17-years-old. I actually started the process when I was away from home at a summer camp in Rhode Island. And now, as I am a graduate student helping teach students in Ireland, I cannot help but once again feel the sting of hair loss--made worse by the fact that my fin. is off-label and I couldn't risk bringing it, so I am on vitamins until I return home.

It's not that, considering I've been losing my hair for half of my life (I am now 34), my hair loss is that bad. I am still a NW III, but I hate the fact that it is so obvious. My problems are compounded by the fact--as I discovered I had autism when I was an adult--I returned for my undergraduate degree when I was 28 and now everyone I meet is a young man with a full head of hair. I feel like I've been cheated out of half of my life! And I only have the promise of more money in the future. I am still, for now, a starving grad student. And I cover my shame--once again on what is supposed to be a life-changing trip--under hats and covered in concealers.

I know that some pop ex-psychology students (even here) will give me the "you are not your hair" speech. I know I am not my hair. But, being autistic, I can barely speak to people without having to worry about their gaze slowly reaching my ever-expanding fore(five... or six)head. I know, I know... They aren't looking. Except, of course, they are. I've even had professors openly make fun of me, and one even felt so bad she gave me a "scholarship" of $50 when she discovered I am autistic and have learning disabilities.