My Repair Is Almost Complete (w/pics.)

wylie

Well, it's been a long road. I've been wearing a hat everywhere since the mid 90's, so for almost 20 years I've had to hide my hair from the world. That takes a toll on a person's psyche, to say nothing of how it affects the rest of your life. All I can say, to summarize how I feel today, is thank God for doctors like Dr. Umar.

No one else could have helped me. I was simply stripped out, with no donor and a head full of "mini grafts", made all the worse by dark, very fine hair contrasted against pale skin. Concealers wouldn't work to hide the plugs, and using them was as obvious as the plugs themselves. Before I found Dr. Umar I had a very small strip done by the very skilled Dr. Konior, who was able to soften the row of plugs with around 600 grafts. As small as that was it made a big difference. But the only one who would see it was myself, as the hat rarely came off.

But then I found out about Dr. Umar, when I caught wind of beard hair now being used as an alternative to scalp hair. I believe this was late 2007 or so. I flew out to Redondo Beach to see Dr. Umar, and I can say, from the very beginning, Dr. Umar's confidence in his ability to fix my hair never wavered. His personality is rather stoic, and he never made any promises either way, but he said he could probably fix my hair with a casual confidence that provided the first ray of hope I had in well over a decade.

But my experience with this industry never allowed me to think this would, or could, be fixed. I read so many stories online about how beard hair was a scam, how growth rates were terrible, and often about how it looked terrible as well. No matter where I went, the stories were overwhelmingly negative. But then I started seeing a trend repeat itself: The naysayers had never gotten any beard hair added to their nuggets, and the doctors were not able to harvest beard hair and expertly blend it with scalp hair on people like myself.

Hmmmmm........