Is it normal for the HT doctor to do this?

Is it normal for a HT doctor to have his techs do most if not all of the grafting? I was reading a lot about Dr. Limmer and I really want to go to him,but I was reading where he had his techs do the grafts...maybe most doctors do this, I dont know but I would like for someone to tell me...Also has anyone had any experience with Dr. Limmer?

Newhairplease!!

Dr Rahal in January 19, 2012:)

4808 FUT grafts- 941 singles, 2809 doubles, 1031 triples, 27 quads

My Hairloss Website

techs place most of the grafts with most doctors I think, but the docs should be making the incisions.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

I asked one of the top HT doctors frequently mentioned here whether in his practice techs placed the grafts or he did the placement himself. He said that techs do all the placement because "they're much better at it than I am."

Newhair,

As many others have stated, it's common procedure for the technicians to cut/refine the grafts under the microscope and place them into the incision sites. It's what they're trained to do, and they are very good at it! In most follicular unit transplantation cases (FUT), the physician will remove the strip, make the incision sites, suture the strip site, and monitor the graft placement.

"Doc" Blake Bloxham - formerly "Future_HT_Doc"

Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant for the Hair Transplant Network, the Hair Loss Learning Center, the Hair Loss Q&A Blog, and the Hair Restoration Forum

All opinions are my own and my advice does not constitute as medical advice. All medical questions and concerns should be addressed by a personal physician.