How long should I wait to buzz or shave post-transplant? (quite urgent)

I was offered to schedule HT in the middle of school year next year (I am a teacher if my username does not gives that away). I would not like to have uneven hair length especially since it is hairline. 

So ideally I would like to start the semester buzzed down, teach, take a 2 week break (I can), come back with a buzzed look or maybe at least buzz down within a month. And then let it grow 5-6 months later. Is that a problem in that it would not allow me to monitor growth? I can take microscopic pictures of hair sprouting. 

I am also worried about donor area scars, if I buzz. So I was also wonder whether I can SMP (temporary) the donor area after a month.. 

Any information about concealing a HT would be great. The good news is that I am joining a new school so if I start the year with a buzz cut and end the year with a head of hair, as long as it is well done with natural results ... I should be fine. 

Update:  The main questions has been answered thanks. Adding a question. From the photo below do you think that conservatively fortifying a mature hairline without doing crown work can look natural? I believe I have seen many operations where the crown was not touched because of insufficient donor and the results did not look unnatural (with mature hairline). But just wanted to double check. Thanks!

Edited by Prof101

The whole process of hair transplantation requires a lot of patience  , the first few months are rocky and you need a thick skin . Having said that SMP is not recommended at the donor site up to 4-6 months post surgery , you can buzz the donor safely at the 8 weeks mark and the recipient area at 3 months mark .

• Like 3

If In were you I would just tell your students and everyone else needed that you are getting a hair transplant.