FUT scars

For those of you who have had FUT procedures, how short can you typically wear your hair? I know it may vary depending on the individual but I’m trying to get an average length. Looking into making a decision soon and have been back and forth between the FUT vs FUE debate. I wear my hair short however after a lot of research I think an FUT procedure might be the way to go. 

• Administrators

Let me tag @1978matt he had an FUT and seems to wear his hair relatively short.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I think hair type plays a part.  My hair sticks out straight and i can get away with grade 4 with no visibility, but to the trained eye, someone could pick it out at grade 3 or 2.

If your donor is dense and lays flat you could potentially have no issues at 2 or 3, but as a working assumption I'd plan for grade 4.  Anything better is a bonus.

4,312 FUT grafts (7,676 hairs) with Ray Konior, MD - August 2013

1,145 FUE grafts (3,152 hairs) with Ray Konior, MD - August 2018

763 FUE grafts (2,094 hairs) with Ray Konior, MD - January 2020

Proscar 1.25mg every 3rd day

Thanks for the input. This is my only hesitation with FUT because I like to wear my hair short. However FUT seems to be less variable then FUE with almost guaranteed quality grafts and I like the idea of having the extra donor available for more lifetime grafts.