Upper sideburn hair transplants look unnatural. Here's why we don't do them.

We get asked pretty frequently to add some hair down from those "frontal triangles" to connect to the sideburn area.  Lots of books on hair transplantation show this and I do see a fair number of guys who have had it done and it frequently looks UNNATURAL.   First off the donor hair is usually thicker than sideburn hair, second..its hard to get it to lie flat with the skin like sideburn hair does, and lastly as people lose hair behind the transplant...it looks like the state of Florida or Baja California....in a sea of skin.

We go into this in this short video.

Dr. Lindsey McLean VA

• Like 1

William H. Lindsey, MD, FACS

McLean, VA

Dr. William Lindsey is a member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

• Administrators

Great video Dr. Lindsey

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

While I agree with the philosophy of keeping things unremarkable so you don't draw attention, one of the dead giveaways for a guy having a HT is a nice defined top hairline while his temple points, or upper side burns as you refer to them, continue to thin and recede.

I think a mature framing of the face should always be the goal, and that will necessarily involve some work on the sides for some guys. Maybe body hair, neck hair to approximate the extra thinness/fineness. The mature part is key, not too aggressive to avoid those big islands and waste hair that will be needed down the road.