Dietary Influences on Hair - Carlos K. Wesley, M.D.

Reportedly, genes contribute less than 14% of explained variation in androgenetic alopecia (AGA) [Richards, et. al]. Since dietary changes may be the simplest starting point to preventing hair loss, this investigative study might be of interest to many of you.

Studying 354 men (ages 35-65), researchers found that frequent soy bean drink consumption proved slightly protective against moderate to severe male pattern baldness (MPB). Rich in isoflavones (leading to increased antioxidant levels) soy consumption demonstrated some protection against AGA.

SoyInsta.jpg

• Administrators

I wonder if it's because soy beans have an anti androgenic effect.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Ingesting Diatamaceous Earth daily has really helped my hair the last couple week, looks healthier and grows waaaay faster. Maybe I should add this soy bean stuff to my routine and replace the castor oil rubbed into my scalp every evening lol

Ingesting Diatamaceous Earth daily has really helped my hair the last couple week, looks healthier and grows waaaay faster. Maybe I should add this soy bean stuff to my routine and replace the castor oil rubbed into my scalp every evening lol

Diatamaceus earth?? Hearing this for the first time. Does it really help with thickening hair and accelerating growth? What has been your experience?

Diatamaceus earth?? Hearing this for the first time. Does it really help with thickening hair and accelerating growth? What has been your experience?