Is there pain after FUE?

How bad is the pain after fue? the donor and recioient? Is it immediately after op or does it take a few days to feel it?

I'm wondering if pain meds wont be necessary and I can just tough the pain out

• Administrators

There is pain, my last surgery I had pain in the donor area for over a week, pain meds will be necessary for the first 2-3 days after that you could tough it out depending on your pain tolerance, but FUE is not a painless procedure or scarless as its many times advertised.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I think it depends on so many factors.....including the size of surgery. My first one was 2,000 grafts and it just wasn't bad, at all. The donor felt like a sun burn....nothing more. Pain pills easily took care of the issue....and I bet Advil would have worked as good.

I just had a 1,300 again on Tuesday and I've literally taken 2 pain pills...I feel 100%.

Personally I had no pain whatsoever post op ,the injections hurt a bit but only the first 3 or 4, had a little itchiness in the donor after a week or so but no pain, a few pimples which is normal, I had 4200 grafts in one sitting lasted about 10 hours that was a bit of a pain, but most people don't have that many grafts done