Hair Loss Slowing After Age 35

• Administrators

It depends on your level, if you’re a Norwood 6, yes, it slows down because you’ve lost most of your hair by then. But if you’re a Norwood 2, you’ll probably continue to thin many more years.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

41 minutes ago, GoliGoliGoli said:

Some people say it slows down as your age but that sounds like wishful thinking. Everyones balding pattern/rate is individual to them. I would not at all anticipate your balding to slow after 35 or any other arbitrary age. 

Testosterone levels fall as you age, so DHT levels will too. Whether that impacts hair loss will depend on the reduction and individual sensitivity to it. As with medication, a reduction will probably slow for some and stop it for others.

24 minutes ago, BackFromTheBrink said:

Testosterone levels fall as you age, so DHT levels will too. Whether that impacts hair loss will depend on the reduction and individual sensitivity to it. As with medication, a reduction will probably slow for some and stop it for others.

I understand the thinking behind it and I'm still not convinced. Anecdotal evidence shows that many guys lose rapidly well past 35 or any other arbitrary age. People will come up with all sorts of theories for why their hair loss will stabilize. Lots of guys also continue to lose ON finasteride so I don't think some 1% drop in your T levels per year is going to have a big effect on your hair loss.