Do DHT Meds Work for Facial and Body Hair Too?

• Administrators
3 hours ago, HappyMan2021 said:

Are DHT blockers just as effective in preventing hair loss for hair located everywhere on your body, or are they only effective for scalp hair for some reason?

Will Dutasteride help prevent my beard and eyebrows from thinning?

Facial hair thrives on DHT, so, Dutasteride could theoretically cause body hair thinning. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

The thinning that happens in eyebrows seems to be related to age as opposed to hormones. 

Beards usually dont seem to thin. They just "grow" faster or slower based on androgens. Chest hair is similar to beard. Once hairy always hairy. 

10 hours ago, HappyMan2021 said:

Are DHT blockers just as effective in preventing hair loss for hair located everywhere on your body, or are they only effective for scalp hair for some reason?

Will Dutasteride help prevent my beard and eyebrows from thinning?

I definitely saw that my beard grew slower when I started taking fin (0,5 mg/day) (which insn't as I needed to go to the barber every 2 weeks, no every 3 weeks is sufficient)

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Legend007 said:

I lost most my hairs on my arms n legs .. they were thin before finasteride .. n with finasteride it’s almost invisible .. but still hair on my head n lower area . :) 

I'm hoping with facial/body hair - if anything it will grow slower but not actually thing.