How does DUPA progress?

It can become an almost complete bald head, but more often then not its very thin pattern thats left, with no donor hair available for transplantation because the hair density  is so thin. DUPA really is hairloss from hell, thankfully its very rare

Any pics of it? I have never seen a completely bald person. I have seen lots of NW7+ bald people who have extremely thin and sparse donor hair but it's still there.

I am starting to think DUPA is not a black and white thing. A lot of bald guys' sides and back also thins out and we call it DUPA only if it becomes too thin. Is this right?

• Administrators

Progresses just like hair loss would

image.png

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

7 hours ago, bald-and-bearded said:

Any pics of it? I have never seen a completely bald person. I have seen lots of NW7+ bald people who have extremely thin and sparse donor hair but it's still there.

I am starting to think DUPA is not a black and white thing. A lot of bald guys' sides and back also thins out and we call it DUPA only if it becomes too thin. Is this right?

Here's an example of an extreme case.  When its all said and done this poor fellow will have almost no hair left on his head

89F81996-7A40-4219-B8C4-680FE03BF788.jpe

7 hours ago, bald-and-bearded said:

Its definitely not a black and white thing, it affects people differently.

When the sides and back also thin out its usually not DUPA, this is called retrograde alopecia, and thats similar but a different animal altogether

• Moderators