Is Shock Loss Inevitable?

No. Obviously every patient is different and the skills of a surgeon are important. Meds like finasteride/minoxidil can also help to mitigate against shock loss. 

• Like 2

My advice does not constitute a patient-physician relationship nor as medical advice and all medical questions/concerns should be addressed to your medical provider. 

7 hours ago, dtap said:

Hello everyone. Will ht patients experience shock loss to one degree or another in any procedure no matter how big or small it is?

Going to a decent/elite Dr/Clinic should minimise the risk. It can never be ruled out but it definitely doesn’t always occur. 
Seen some horrible shock loss occur from some of the hair mills. 

Edited by JohnAC71
  • Like 1

• Administrators

If you have a lot of native hair, to an extent yes.

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Your pain threshold, the more injections the more incidents, the mix of epinephrine/saline etc, miniaturisation levels, skill level of the doctor. I have seen in the best hands some shock in the donor and usually around the ears is more prone or just behind, so there are really a fair few factors that play a part. 

Edited by sl
  • Like 1

I represent Dr. Bisanga.

Dr. Christian Bisanga is recommended on the Hair Transplant Network