Shedding on Finasteride

fakeplstctrees

I began using Proscar (Finasteride) about two months ago, and have noticed a marked increase in hair loss. Is this normal? Does it mean that it is working? And will it reverse the miniaturization of my thinning follicles? Thanks guys.

2/14/2011 Surgery #1 Dr. Ivan Cohen - 1539 grafts, 1's - 475

2's - 989

3's - 75

2/20/2012 Surgery #2 Dr. Carlos Wesley - 2570 grafts

Yes, it is making room for better and thicker follicles.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

The finasteride is stimulating your hair follicles which cause many of them to cycle. This shedding is temporary and yes a good sign you are responding to it favorably. Everything takes time to cycle through. But IMHO, finasteride will not reverse the effects of DHT, but is very effective in slowing down the progression of MPB by inhibiting the hormone.

That's why the sooner one can get the progression to slow down, the longer one can enjoy holding onto the hair they still have!;)

One last comment. I assume you are cutting your proscar into four pieces using a pill cutter?

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

The finasteride is stimulating your hair follicles which cause many of them to cycle. This shedding is temporary and yes a good sign you are responding to it favorably. Everything takes time to cycle through. But IMHO, finasteride will not reverse the effects of DHT, but is very effective in slowing down the progression of MPB by inhibiting the hormone.