What part of the HT process did you find most difficult?

For those of who you have undergone hair transplants, what part of the process did you find most difficult (i.e., painful, uncomfortable) to deal with? Was it the anxiety leading up to your surgery day? Was it the procedure itself? Was it having your staples removed? Was it the immediate post-op recovery period? Was it apprehension over going out in public during your "ugly duckling" period? Was it the endless worrying over waiting for the grafts to start growing?

gmonasco,

Speaking for myself, I'd say it was the waiting. I didn't experience too much pain and discomfort. I had sutures and they were easily removed with no pain.

The first week after a hair transplant is also pretty rough. Shampooing and working the scabs off, sleeping at an incline. After that it's just a lot of anticipation.

Best of luck,

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

As far as physical pain, the staple removal part was a bit painful, nothing terrible though. Sutures do come out easier. The ugly duckling phase is the toughest part of a HT, for sure.

I am the owner/operator of AHEAD INK a Scalp Micropigmentation Company in Fort Lee, New Jersey. www.aheadink.com

I would have to say the first 2 weeks after the surgery was the most stressful because you're being overly cautious during this phase, trying not to harm any of the grafts. I started to sleep normally after 3 and a half weeks because I just didn't feel comfortable sleeping on my grafts after 1.5 - 2 weeks. Sleeping for me during this time was tough as well, what helped me was Melatonin and Tylenol PM. The ugly duckling phase was tough, as is the waiting.

Edited by Fingers Crossed