23 years old and losing hair - request for advice -pics included

First of all, this is really excellent forum you have hear. I have learnt a lot just lurking.

Secondly I would like to request yor advice over hair loss and the viability of transplant. Im 23 but will be 24 before I could afford one anyway.

after a period of denial, i noticed definite hair losss about a year and a half ago, but looking back at old pics its been going on since I was 19 possibly longer.

Here is a pic. Any attempt to estimate the number grafts i might be looking at would be appreciated.

hair.jpg.edaf40f2d6daf484e6d1c841c87214e0.jpg

I would say about 2000 grafts.

Please start on minoxidil and finasteride as soon as possible (if you are not already on it) and look for negative side effects.

Please take you time to review all the information and pros/cons of hair transplant surgery.

I am not a medical professional and you should consult one for a bona fide opinion.

Other posters will give their opinions

take care...

bereft, your account name is one of the BEST I have ever seen icon_biggrin.gif

I think you should wait it out a bit....and do some more research.

You need all frontal restoration at 23---who knows what your loss will be in 3-4 years?

Take Care,

Jason

Go Cubs!

6721 transplanted grafts

13,906 hairs

Performed by Dr. Ron Shapiro

Dr. Ron Shapiro and Dr. Paul Shapiro are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

Thanks for your responses. I'm glad you like my name icon_smile.gif.

Yeah the idea of waiting 3-4 years seems to tally with what i've read elsewhere. But, rationally or otherwise, I really don't feel like putting it off that long. I'm sure you've seen a million like me in this respect.

What do you reckon my first port of call should be. My GP?

bereft, I would skip the GP & get a consultation with a Hair transplant surgeon either in person or online.