Does weightlifting accelerate hair loss?

Hello,

I have been on Finasteride and Oral Minoxidil for nearly 9 months now and I have been seeing decent results in terms of maintaining existing hair and modest regrowth. 

I am planning on starting to lift weights again to try and get healthier. My big concern is that this will accelerate hair loss as I know lifting weights can increase testosterone levels. I’m not sure of the scientific thing but I know guys who are muscular are more likely to be bald.

i don’t know if their baldness was a catalyst for hitting the gym but I’m not an expert on biology and I was hoping someone could give me an answer. 

I’m also going to post my 9 month update here. It looks like I never lost any hair to begin with. I just don’t want weightlifting to ruin the progress I have made. 

IMG_1769.jpeg

IMG_1746.jpeg

IMG_1747.jpeg

• Valued Contributor

If you’re on Finasteride then I would not worry about hitting the gym. Resistance training will increase your testosterone levels which will increase DHT levels. However, I don’t believe that it should be a cause to not work out. I’m not anle to tolerate a 5ari at all and I’m going to the gym. I’m taking 5mg of oral minoxidil a day but this has no role in blocking DHT levels. 

1 hour ago, h_kovacs said:

I have never experienced hair loss when going back to the gym and I have been on and off for years

I have also not noticed any hair loss while taking creatine

Everybody is different.

As you touch on the gym won’t have a massive impact on hairloss but there’s a fairly wide scale debate and scientific studies into the impact of supplements. Creatine seems to be the big one but I’m glad it hasn’t impacted you adversely.

• Administrators

Anabolic steroids can accelerate hair loss. Working out naturally should have no bearing on hair loss. 

• Like 2

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.