Are smaller FUE procedures more successful?

• Administrators

I think fewer things can go wrong in smaller procedures. There are fewer variables like fatigue. However, some clinics consistently get good results using extensive mega sessions. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• Valued Contributor
1 hour ago, RTC said:

As the title suggests, is there any evidence to suggest that smaller FUE procedures (500 grafts or less) are any more successful than larger procedures in terms of yield?

Scientifically it should be better ...but doctors like pittela and zarev are consistently proving all those theories wrong.

Check Out My Hair Transplant Journey

--> My Thread

3611 FUE Grafts With Dr Kongkiat Laorwong | Norwood 5 | 2nd May 2023 

It depends heavily from the clinic i think. If they are doing this small procedures in order to take their time and do the extractions carefully then yes. Nowadays most clinics can do 1500 grafts per day though and still be able to achieve maximal graft survival.

11 hours ago, RTC said:

As the title suggests, is there any evidence to suggest that smaller FUE procedures (500 grafts or less) are any more successful than larger procedures in terms of yield?

You can also watch tis podcast:

39 minutes ago, Gramatik said:

Various clinics do very big fue sessions without problem at all. For example Dr pittella is doing 6000 grafts with fue per day and he has consistent good results...so it depends on the clinic.