Any Benefit to Using Both Oral and Topical Finasteride?

Damifino

I've been on oral Finasteride for over 20 years (no side effects), and it's done a good job at holding off further loss. I've recently started back using 5% Rogaine foam in the crown area, where I'd like to see some further thickening. Would there be any added benefit in trying topical finasteride instead of, or in addition to, the Rogaine? Or, since I'm already taking oral finasteride, would it not be of help much at all? 

Thanks in advance!

• Administrators

I think there’s a benefit to using oral finasteride and Topical Dutasteride, which is only once a week. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Well actually the answer is there could be. While fin reduces systemic dht 60-70 percent for men, the reduction is not equal to that percent range in the scalp. Topical fin could help reduce 5ar conversion directly in the scalp according to the few studies done it. However you run into the problem of topical fin going systemic along with your oral use

• 1 year later...

Bumping this back to the top, as I'm still looking to get some additional thickening in my crown area...

@Melvin- Moderator, you mentioned in your earlier post that you thought there could be some benefit to oral Finasteride (which I'm still taking) together with topical Dutasteride. A few follow-up questions:

- Any updated thoughts on this, given your success with Xyon?

- Would the addition of Xyon topical Dut to oral Fin be overkill?