Percentage of beard/chest hair for a NW Va/VI ?

If someone is a Norwood Va or VI, what would be the maximum percentage they could have input using FUE or DHI using beard and/or chest donor before it would look unusual?

Obviously, the hair would have to be kept relatively short if there's a lot of beard or chest hair donor, but above a certain percentage would it be obvious that it wasn't normal head hair?

Thanks.

Edited by Mike_2020

• Administrators

@Portugal25 he’s had a significant amount of beard hair, maybe he can answer you.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

@Mike_2020 I had bald midscalp and crown that has been filled with 1888 beard grafts + 2007 scalp grafts (50/50) and I can’t tell you that it’s impossible to notice the difference between scalp and beard grafts.

9E91218A-674B-4D16-BF6D-0384EF5CC8E6.jpeg

Edited by Portugal25
  • Like 1

• Moderators

The lower back part of my crown is 100% beard and chest hair. I was completely bald there before. It doesn't look any different than other hair and it grows several inches long if I let it. There are no issues with length or appearance. For the first two years there is a difference in how it feels if I run my hands through it. It feels a bit more coarse, but that slowly goes away over a few years. I can't tell the difference anymore in the oldest ones that were transplanted.

Edited by BeHappy
  • Like 1

Al

Forum Moderator

(formerly BeHappy)