Are there Artificial Hair Plugs?

glenalm

Does anyone know if there are artificial hair plugs available? By that I mean fake hair that can be surgically transplanted in the scalp. I could have sworn that I had seen something like this advertised in a TV infomercial many many years ago.

They did it in the past and it didn't work out due to infection.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

They did it in the past and it didn't work out due to infection.

Damn! I was hoping this existed and would be better than regular hair transplants. Do you know if there are still companies out there still providing this type of hair system?

I would be very wary of this, but it appears there are companies that still perform this type of work:

Medicap: Artificial hair implant, instruments and training

Dr. Dow Stough - 1000 Grafts - 1996

Dr. Jerry Wong - 4352 Grafts - August 2012

Dr. Jerry Wong - 2708 Grafts - May 2016

Remember a hair transplant turns back the clock,

but it doesn't stop the clock.

These "biological implant" fibers generally cause a very pronounced "foreign body" rejection reaction and LOTS of long-term scarring in the scalp.

There are some companies claiming to have improved the implants and some areas where you can get them done, but I think most would recommend researching follicular unit grafting (IE modern hair transplantation) first.

Dr. Blake Bloxham is recommended by the Hair Transplant Network.

Hair restoration physician - Feller and Bloxham Hair Transplantation

Previously "Future_HT_Doc" or "Blake_Bloxham" - forum co-moderator and editorial assistant for the Hair Transplant Network, Hair Restoration Network, Hair Loss Q&A blog, and Hair Loss Learning Center.