6 months post FUT and unhappy with density.

I am new to this, I signed up months ago, but just now figured out how to start a thread. Here is my problem. I am 29, and was experiencing moderate hair loss in the crown area and frontal area. My hairline was non-existent. Back in February, Valentines Day to be exact, I had a FUT procedure of 1500 grafts. I researched surgeons, this site certainly helped with that, and decided on someone close to home, and recommended by this site. I am practically 6 months post op now, and unhappy with the density in certain areas. The left side of my hairline has actual areas of no hair growth, and the same in other areas to a lesser extent. I understand that the transplanted hair will thicken with time, but shaft thickening will not be enough to provide adequate coverage. I mean there are areas of my scalp completely visible, even in dim lighting. In direct sunlight, my head is very shiny. I do admit an improvement over what I had before the surgery, but the results so far are not up to my expectations. I feel depressed over this, I invested a fair amount of money, time, and hope into this, and now I am at a loss for what to do. I even met with the doctor last week, and he told me that I shouldn't expect any more growth at this point, but to wait until December and go back to see him. He is a top notch surgeon, highly experienced, and recommended. Should I believe what he told me last week, or is there hope for me? I feel lost. If I see him in December, and my results are still disappointing, what should I do. Do I negotiate for a free procedure? I mean a crap institution like Bosley guarantees their work, but I chose a master of his craft, and not some young HT surgeon, eager to get the experience under his belt, to venture away from Bosley, and start his own business, because we all know that is what happens there, the best surgeons they have, leave to start their own practice.