Quitting finasteride?

Dear,

I have been using oral finasteride (1mg) for 6 months now, Unfortunately I still have no stabilization to date. The hairs are still falling out a lot, I do notice that a lot of small hairs are falling out now.

Can I now draw the conclusion that this medication has no use for me and that I can better stop? Or should I keep going till the one year mark?

I am really getting discouraged....

Posted (edited)

Take it to the one year mark then reassess. I suggest after that if you still feeling you are loosing ground add DUT 2 times a week and oral minoxidil 5 mg 7 times a week 

Edited by Ajamilo
  • Like 2

• Administrators

If you’re still losing hair with finasteride, getting off it will only make it worse.

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• Valued Contributor
15 hours ago, vortex898 said:

Dear,

I have been using oral finasteride (1mg) for 6 months now, Unfortunately I still have no stabilization to date. The hairs are still falling out a lot, I do notice that a lot of small hairs are falling out now.

Can I now draw the conclusion that this medication has no use for me and that I can better stop? Or should I keep going till the one year mark?

I am really getting discouraged....

Give finasteride at least 12 months before making a judgement call.

• Like 1

• Valued Contributor