stopping oral minoxidil after growth

HarryHonolulu

hey all

I am about to hop on the oral minoxidil train and have a basic question:

let's say in 12 months time I see serious regrowth. could I just stop taking oral minoxidil and stay on oral finasteride?

my logic is probably flawed, but I just assumed the minoxidil is to regrow the hair and the finasteride is to maintain it... 

Edited by HarryHonolulu

• Administrators

If you get gains from OM you will lose it if you stop it. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• Administrators
3 minutes ago, HarryHonolulu said:

thanks Melvin.

will Oral Minoxidil do anything for miniaturization in the hairline? i.e. will it "thicken" visibly thin hair? 

or what is its major area of success?

It thickens everything. I’ve noticed Its even thickened my donor. The actual hair shaft is thicker. There’s concerns which are valid about blood pressure and heart palpitations. But I haven’t experienced any side’s thankfully. But if you do I would stop right away. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

View my thread

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

• Administrators
25 minutes ago, HarryHonolulu said:

what dosage are you on?

for what it's worth, my cousin is a cardiologist and literally said "go ahead, see how it goes, the cardiovascular risks at low dose are negligible"