DHI, Stick and Place, Pre-made Slits Which is Better? Dr. Konior and Dr. Mwamba answer

• Administrators

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

What fascinates me about the pre-made slit technique is that it can take a longer amount of time for the wound to close than I thought. A surgeon can make slits on day 1 and implant into them on day 2. While I understand that there is no advantage of one technique over another with all other factors being equal (ie surgeon experience, handling of the grafts, etc), I wonder if, again all factors being equal, pre-made slits may have a slight advantage given that they have already started producing a whole bunch of growth factors that come into play when the body is going through its repair cycle.

• Like 1

• Administrators
8 minutes ago, kirkland said:

What fascinates me about the pre-made slit technique is that it can take a longer amount of time for the wound to close than I thought. A surgeon can make slits on day 1 and implant into them on day 2. While I understand that there is no advantage of one technique over another with all other factors being equal (ie surgeon experience, handling of the grafts, etc), I wonder if, again all factors being equal, pre-made slits may have a slight advantage given that they have already started producing a whole bunch of growth factors that come into play when the body is going through its repair cycle.

Astute observation, in fact, this has been discussed by Dr. Bernstein and Dr. Rassman in this article