Should You Get A Hair Transplant Or Hair System?

• Administrators

Someone asked me this recently via pm. I didn't know how to respond. On one hand, a hair system is instant, no waiting, it's guaranteed hair. On the other hand, it's a rug. What are the pros and cons to each?

Should I Get A Hair Transplant or Hair System?

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I think the balder you are or the more aggressive your balding will be, the more you should look at a system just cause even if you're one of the legendary NW8s, a system can put more hairs on your head than an otter.

Since we're on a hair transplant forum, it's about managing expectations with a hair transplant and a transplant on a NW7 guy might never make him happy with the density and the compromises that need to be made

its kind of ironic. before I went down the road of 3 hair transplants, I always thought toupees/wigs/hair systems (whatever you called them) were horrible and who in their right mind would wear them. 

But after going through the extreme stress, uncertainty, cost, and waiting game of 3 hair transplants, I have a much more favorable opinion of hair systems. 

I think hair systems are a great option if someone is a NW 6 or NW 7 and the best a HT could bring them to is a NW 3 or NW 4, and they would only be satisfied showing no hair loss at all. 

Also if people demand their hair to be perfect, and demand to have a hairstyle that they cant do with a hair transplant, a hair system is the way to go.