The Crown is No Longer a Black Hole For Grafts- Dr. Wong

• Administrators

• Like 4

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• Moderators

I never understood why so many people think the crown is a black hole. Most people will agree that the front half on a NW 6 would take around 4500 grafts, depending on the person's hair characteristics. Why would they not realize that the same size area in the back half of the head would need the same amount of grafts to get the same density and coverage? Less grafts are done in the crown because most people don't have 9000 or more grafts that they can use, so you have to leave some areas with less density. It makes sense in most cases to have the frontal half more dense than the back half because that creates the best overall appearance when you don't have an unlimited amount of grafts to use.

Here's what I mean. Here's a NW 6 head.

1558741499_ScreenShot1.png.dc7aac69d8a5e81e55dc2ed5592e9620.png

So if it takes 4500 grafts to fill in the front half at a reasonable density that provides acceptable coverage, then why wouldn't the back half be the same?

669040075_ScreenShot2.png.7a6b028a3bb2e7bb7f9a04f7c32cdcb5.png