How long after treatment before people can't tell? (FUT)

I am really close to going ahead with a FUT treatment. The majority of the work will be on the crown but there will be some work done at the hairline as well. My last concern at this point is the timing. The earliest appointment they have is in early August. I am a teacher and I would strongly prefer my coworkers and my students did not know I had this treatment preformed. The surgery would be on 8/5. My first day back in school is 8 days after that. I might be able to take that Friday off and stretch it to 10.  My first day with students would be about 14 days after. They are telling me that it would not be obvious by that point. But when I do image searches for FUT recovery it seems pretty obvious to me 14 days out. All the redness and scabbing is gone but there are still many small 'dots' of hair that do not look natural at all. Obviously this could just be the images I am finding so I thought I would ask here.

Clearly I should have acted faster and had things scheduled at the start of summer. I am not against waiting until next summer to avoid my above worries.

Any thoughts are appreciated! 

I agree...at 14 days post-op the scabbing and crusts should be gone...there may be some lingering redness however should anyone ask about it, all you have to say is that you spent some time outdoors and leave it at that....the key is to act normal, no anxiety.

• Like 1

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

8 minutes ago, JohnAC71 said:

Can I ask who the clinic is ? Unless requested/discussed otherwise, they will shave the head.