Scarring left behind by re-locating grafts

I had a previous hair transplant, where the surgeon did a very non-ideal placement of my corner grafts. So much so that my first pick for physician wouldn't consider a procedure on me unless he could relocate them, even if I was happy with the placement (I'm not). 

My concern is scarring. I'm probably in the top 1% of those who scar easily. I am wondering if anyone has has any experience with relocating grafts. 

I believe feriduni has a few cases posted here with punched out grafts. Scarring will always be there, it’s just a matter of how visible they are which depends on your own healing characteristics. Doctor skill is only part of it. Another question to ponder is how much would others notice the scarring?

• Like 1

• Administrators

Check out this thread

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Believe it or not, punch-outs in the hairline actually heal very well.  I've had multi's removed and the scars are non-existent.

• Like 1

Dr. G: 1,000 grafts (FUT) 2008

Dr. Paul Shapiro: 2,348 grafts (FUT) 2009 ~ 1,999 grafts (FUT) 2011 ~ 300 grafts (Scar Reduction) 2013

Dr. Konior: 771 grafts (FUT) 2015 ~ 558 grafts (FUT) 2017 ~ 1,124 grafts (FUE) 2020

My Hair Transplant Journey with Shapiro Medical Group

Thanks everyone. 

I am probably in the bottom 1% of scarring. I got a small cut on my face a few years back, and that resulted in a scar. So I suspect there would be some scarring with punchouts.