Afraid to have a transplant

Hello to everyone, I'm 24 and norwood 3a and I'm considering to have an hair transplant as soon as I get 25. However, even if hair loss depresses me, I'm a bit hesitant on the idea: both FUT and FUE leave scars, and it means that, if needed, because the transplant go wrong or my MPB progresses even with Finasteride I will not be able to shave my head without doing other expensive procedures. Has someone gone through this?

• Administrators

Have you ever shaved your head? If no, I strongly suggest doing so before considering a hair transplant. If you can live with a head shaved, you’ve found the optimal solution. No down time, money or risk involved. Now, if you shave your head and hate it, chances are you always will, so shaving your head in the future becomes a moot point. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I don't like my head shaved, but the fact is that I fear I would have to shave my head in the future if the transplant fails, hair loss goes on etc. and in this case I'd have also scars from FUE or FUT. For this reason I'd never go with a FUT because the scar would be big, white dots are far less noticeable but still visible...

Edited by Struggle

• Administrators
13 minutes ago, Struggle said: