How young is too young

Today I noticed my 18 yr old nephew is clearly losing his hair. His dad is as bald as a cue ball. 

Should I get him on the big 3 now if he wants? 

Link to what I did to grow my hair back without a transplant. 2 year update. 

• Administrators

This is something I worry about, I never want my nephew to have to go through what I did. In my opinion, should my nephew show signs of hair loss at a young age, id sit him down and talk about the treatments available, the pros and cons and ask him what he wants to do. I would definitely suggest the big 3. The earlier he catches hair loss the better he will be in the long run.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Thanks guys, ill sit him down this weekend. He hasn't mentioned anyone me but I can almost be sure he will welcome the info. 

Looking bald at a very young age is more damaging than looking bald at 30+

whether you have a transplant at 20 or 35 you will still continue to lose hair so I never really understood the difference? 

They say your hair loss stabilises at around 30 so that is an age where most surgeons will be happy to perform the procedure but this really isn’t true as most people will still continue to bald.

So really, what difference will it make if you are younger or older?

That’s just my opinion anyway maybe someone can chime in here and explain the difference   

Let’s say an 18 year old has a Norwood 3 and the vertex is just starting to thin, and then let’s say we have a 35 year old who’s only started to lose their hair and have a Norwood 2