Considering a Hair Transplant - Need Advice

irregardless

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I'm 32 years old. I first started noticing my hair thinning about 10 years ago, but it looked fine after styling it, and I didn't trust any of the ads I saw on TV for treatments. In the past year I seem to be losing my hair much more rapidly (or maybe the loss was just more noticeable at my current level), and it's now starting to bother me to the point where I feel I have to either treat it or shave it this year. My brother is 11 years older than me and completely bald on top, so I can't help but think that might be the path I might also be heading down (although I think he was much also *much* further along that me when he was 32).

I've learned a *lot* from reading some posts on this forum recently, and have grown to be less skeptical about the treatments and doctors that are out there, but I'm still not sure what will be right for me. So I thought this would be a great place to ask for advice.

A couple of questions that are on my mind :

1) Can you tell what Norwood level I am, or heading toward, from the photos?

2) Can Propecia be effective on someone with my level of hair loss? My doctor recommended Propecia, but I feel I've lost enough in the front (especially at the temples) that I might need a transplant.

3) If I do decide to get a transplant, would I be able to keep a short and athletic haircut afterwards? After working out is one of the times when my hair lost most bothers me right now.

4) About how many transplant procedures will I need in the long term? Is there a limit to how many procedures you can handle based on how much donor hair you have? I'm worried if I get a transplant now, and continue losing hair, that the result would end up looking worse in the long run.