When is FUE the best way to go?

I was wondering when it is best to go the FUE route?

Is it based on the size of the session, number of sessions you prolly have left? What is the criteria for making this decision?

Some doctors I talk almost insist the FUE but a lot of them seem really against it....:confused:

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

It seems most Docs prefer to do strip because it has more consistent and reliable tested results. With FUE, there's more of a chance for disappointment, and it involves a lot more time and effort in the process.

If you have a tight scalp limiting the amount of hair that can be harvested from strip; if you have the need for a relatively small number of grafts (probably less than 1000-ish); if you absolutely have an aversion to a strip scar; if you are willing to risk the high potential for lower yield and inferior results and you are informed of the tradeoff ...

Then MAYBE FUE is the way to go. But read some of Dr. Feller's posts on the subject. Some people just have bad skin & hair qualities that make FUE a bad route for some.

If you have bad skin and hair, and heal poorly, strip would not be a very good option either.

True, but I should have used the "wrong" instead of bad. I think he has said that the wrong skin qualities tend to be "mushy" skin that doesn't cleanly take the FUE scoring.

Don't take my word for any of this, however. It's importantly to do your own research and come to your own conclusions. Even good surgeons cannot agree on what is right sometimes.