what is the average density of a donor (fu per square centimeter)

• Administrators

It varies widely, as a general rule of thumb. Visible hair loss isn't visible until around 40 fu per cm2. Donors can range from 65-80 fu per cm2. 

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

It’s supposed to be in terms of FUs.

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

2 hours ago, mr_peanutbutter said:

hairs or follicle units?

Follicle unit just contains x number of hairs, what matters is hair count.

A good donor is above 100 hairs per cm2 

9 hours ago, mr_peanutbutter said:

so youre saying average donor has 80-90 fu per sqcm?

IMHO 80-90 is above average.

Gillenator

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

8 hours ago, Maorizio said:

Follicle unit just contains x number of hairs, what matters is hair count.

A good donor is above 100 hairs per cm2 

I would consider that a superior donor density level.

Gillenator

22 hours ago, mr_peanutbutter said:

what would be considered an average donor density wise, what above average, what a poor donor?

I would say less than 60 fu/cm^2 is poor, between 60-80 fu/cm^2 is average, and more than 80 fu/cm^2 is above average.