Thoughts on FUT and not shaving recipient area?

• Administrators

How much native hair do you have? If it’s essentially bald, shaving isn’t necessary, if you have a lot of hair and the doctor has to place in between native hair, shaving is the best option.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

@gohawks77,

Some surgeons require shaving of the recipient area while others do not. In my honest opinion, shaving of the recipient area makes the surgery a bit easier on the surgeon and his or her team.  That said, surgery can be performed without shaving the recipient area.

In my opinion, it’s ideal to shave the recipient area because it makes it easier for the surgeon and his or her technicians to densely pack the new transplanted hair follicles close together. While dense packing can still be performed without shaving, it makes it just a little bit more difficult if the natural hair isn’t shaved.

At the end of the day, I suggest selecting a surgeon  based on how impressed you are with the results.  If that happens to be with a surgeon who require shaving, I’d consider this just a minor inconvenience considering hair transplant surgery is a lifelong investment.

I hope this helps.

Rahal Hair Transplant 

Edited by Rahal Hair Transplant
  • Like 1

Rahal Hair Transplant Institute - Answers to questions, posts or any comments from this account should not be taken or construed as medical advice.    All comments are the personal opinions of the poster.  

Dr. Rahal is a member of the Coalition of Independent of Hair Restoration Physicians.