How Do I Repair Strip Scar?

GlenB

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on this forum. I'm a 30 year old male who has had two strip scar surgeries with DHI Medical about 5-6 years ago. These procedures have had a really negative effect on my life. I have a big scar in my donor area and hair is not very thick on top. I want to improve my scar and thickness on top. I have looked into triophytic closure and FUE/FIT/CIT into the scar. I consulted with Dr. Bernstein (in person) who said there is probably not enough hair in my donor area to have another procedure. I also consulted with Dr. Cole via email and photo consult who recommended that I get CIT into the scar and crown (900 grafts in total-200 into scar, 700 into crown).

I really don't know what to do. I would be very grateful for any advice.

Sincerely,

GlenB

Hi Glen

I'm sorry to hear of the negative effect your previous work has had. Another option is scar reduction surgery. The idea with this is that subsequent to your previous surgeries some laxity should have returned around the scar so if the scar is cut out and then shut with staples or sutures it can end up being smaller than it was before.

IMO FUE (I think this is the same as CIT) into the scar should be a last option only to be used when you are sure the scar will never be re-opened for another procedure or scar revision surgery.

However, most guys on here will ask you to post some photos so that it is easier to visualise the situation and give our opinions.

Glen, Im curious how many grafts you have had done if Dr. Bernstien says you dont have enough donor left? I agree with imissthebarber in that you should only consider fue into the scar as a last resort when you know for sure you are done with procedure's.