Need advice - Considering First HT at age 43

Hello All -

Been perusing this forum for a few days. I am considering getting my first HT. I am 43, live in AZ, and had my first consult with Dr Alexander yesterday. Nice to have one of the top guys in the country right down the road. I have been using Propecia for about 10 years and I think that is the reason I still have hair. In fact I don't think much has fallen out since I started using it, maybe a little along the way, and maybe a little receding hairline since 10 years back. I just feel I'm at the point where I should shave it all off (thank you Michael Jordan for putting the shaved head in vogue, although I still think black guys look way better than white guys with shaved heads) or do a HT. I'm at a good point in my life to do it - in between relationships, unemployed accept for a small side business.

Dr Alexander wants to do 2700 graphs on front and top, and then if I want he said he could do another round for the crown (which was a nice surprise as I didn't think that was an option). I haven't been using the foam rogaine all this time but he suggested getting on that to help the crown (I tried spray on minox years ago but it itched like a bitch and gave me danderuff so I stopped). I felt really comfortable talking w Dr A, and he said it would look really good when it was done because I already have a lot of hair that will blend in with it.

My concerns are that first few months of looking like a dork with a "sunburned" head and frankenstein gash and staple marks (Dr A shaves the head). I'm really having a hard time getting past that, like I'll just have to wear a hat the whole time I go anywhere, and basically shutdown my social life (meeting girls). I guess this is no biggie, just wait for the new and improved me in 6 months. I'm trying to view it as an investment but I have to think it is very hard emotionally during this period.