Hair Transplant and Future Balding?

What is the likelihood the transplanted hair ends up thinning out bad or potentially balding due to variety of factors life can present? For instance it would suck to get an HT and then at 70 that hair is thin wisps. Is this likely or rare?

Donor hair are also affected by dht over time, Finasteride might or might not prevent that, but if you live long enough it might happen. I am all for future planning, but I think not doing a hair transplant because it won't look good in your 70s is neglecting all time from today until you are 70 as well. Moreover, given you're in your 30s, it is really hard to predict what happens with a) you (you might be dead) and b) hair loss treatmens within 30-40 years. We might see a paradigm change until then.

• Like 1

• Administrators

It will thin over time. Everyones hair thins with age, it’s inevitable. As you age, you have less active hair on your head. Cells are dying, as is your hair. 

• Like 3

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I am a strong believer that the common myth of the donor area being DHT resistance is to blame for this misconception. 

By that i mean people act as if DHT doesn't affect it at all, but even if say they block 99% DHT, that 1% damage over decades eventually catches up. Its why taking Finasteride or similar can help strengthen the donor area hair too.