Traveling for a Hair Transplant

Hello everyone — doing some research on HTs and travel as I get ready to launch into my second procedure. 

For FUE, how many doctor visits did people make? Surgery day is obviously one day, but were there any pre-op or post-up visits?

Wondering how to plan for travel and how far away from my local city (Washington DC) I should search for surgeons. 

• Administrators

Never let location dictate your choice. I suggest visiting at least once in person before agreeing to surgery. 

• Like 3

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I traveled to Europe for my in person consultation, and ultimately took an extra 2 week vacation back to Europe for my procedure and post-op recovery time.

Yes, the extra plane tickets cost money but...this is your head we are talking about, if +/- 1 to 2k is a dealbreaker to you, I would save up a bit more and do it right the first time with the doctor you desire.

• Like 2

• Administrators
9 hours ago, asterix0 said:

I traveled to Europe for my in person consultation, and ultimately took an extra 2 week vacation back to Europe for my procedure and post-op recovery time.

Yes, the extra plane tickets cost money but...this is your head we are talking about, if +/- 1 to 2k is a dealbreaker to you, I would save up a bit more and do it right the first time with the doctor you desire.