Quitting Finasteride after 15 years - what to expect.

rocketmas

Hi,

I have been using both Rogaine and Finasteride for around 15 years. And they have helped. I have a pretty good head of hair, very much against what my genetics would have dictated. I attribute much of my good head to either/both of these medicines.

Now I will need to be off Finasteride for about 6 months for fertility reasons. My question is if I stop it cold or even slowly, what to expect. Will I start shedding a lot or it will be gradual, and I can be back in 6 months with minimal head damage. What is the best way to go off this medicine ?

Thanks for the advise folks.

S

the best way to go off medicine is to slowly low the dose per month. You should not go off very quikly but slowly lowing the dose as the time goes until you stop it permanently. But the question is why you want to stop finasteride? Do you have side effects? why dont u just keep it very few times a week? Like 2 mg a week?

Thanks. Well I didn't care for the many years that  I took it, but now there is  clear indication that it has effected my sperm quality to an extent, and I would like to see that reversed if possible ( without any reversal of hairline ).... I will reduce slowly means I should taper over a month? And how do I keep the hair it has contributed to?

If you are asking how to keep your hair that was protected by finasteride, well if we knew the answer I think everyone would just quit and keep their hair hehe.

Unfortunately, you likely will lose ground once you quit, however I think your fertility is more important than that.