If u had prior tattoos u might have less redness ?

Legend007

I was just wondering if u had tattoos on ur body and u no issues with healing.. would that be a good sign thay ur scalp can handle a hair trAnzplNt ? I’m really worried about the redness / pinkish look on the recipient area lasting too long .. I’ve read upon a few people here that had a good transplant but that redness lingers pass a year .. do u guys think there is a correlation here with the tatoos ..

• Administrators

The redness typically effects individuals that are really pale and fair skinnned. For example I didn’t experience any redness, but I believe that is due to the fact that I have an olive complexion. On the other hand, a guy who’s really blonde or has red hair would probably experience redness to some degree.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Having tattoos and a HT, for me there wasn't a correlation between the two. My scalp has always been rather sensitive (the rest of my skin, not so much), so it makes sense to me that the redness of my scalp lingered a little longer than I would've hoped. If you're someone with a sensitive scalp in general (or fair skin, as mentioned above), you might can expect the redness to last a little longer - but unfortunately, there's no way to know for sure how your scalp will react until you do it.

I am a patient advocate for Dr. Parsa Mohebi in Los Angeles, CA. My views/opinions are my own and don't necessarily reflect the opinions of Dr. Mohebi and his staff.

Check out my hair loss website for photos