Cutting thinning hair short MYTH

• Administrators

I just wanted to dispel this myth that seems to never die out, the myth is that you should cut your hair short when your hair is thinning, this is absolutely ridiculous and wrong, first of all their is a difference between short and shaving, most men cut their hair maybe a 2 guard all around doing this will make you look balder. If you're going to cut your hair short you better buzz it no guard or shave it with a razor no imbetween. You're way better off growing your hair out and leaving the sides short, this will allow your hair to layer on top of each other and cover the scalp (illusion of density) keeping the hair short on the sides will keep the contrast between the thinning hair and the sides at a minimum.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

HTsoon,

You raise a good point. I think that it's important to find the "sweet spot" between too long and too short for the best appearance.

A skilled stylist can certainly assist in creating an appearance of greater density.

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

• Administrators

This is a perfect example of what I'm talking about, with longer hair you couldn't tell he was bald, once he cut it to about a 3 all around you could see he is significantly thinning, this is the worst thing you could do, either buzz it shave it or keep it long.