HT with Ron Shapiro: 6 weeks post op

Bertie

I've just passed the 6 week post op. stage following a HT with Ron Shapiro. I've got pictures on my blog. so would be interested in any feedback. At the moment I'm concerned with folliculitis (painful bumps, raised red areas and spots) and the fact that my own non-transplanted hair is growing back slowly and looking diffuse and thin, possibly as a result of some shock loss. I am a school teacher and have to return to school in two weeks. I'd hoped, perhaps too optimistically, that an 8 week holiday would give me sufficient time for a smooth transition to keep my transplant a secret. But I'm now wondering what story I can possibly concoct to explain the huge contrast between when the kids last saw me with quite good hair coverage to the man who will appear substantially bald at the front come September. I will probably use Toppik but kids are sharp-eyed and don't miss a lot. They also love to tease, so I need to think of how best to pre-empt potentially embarrassing scenarios. Any advice will be appreciated.

View my post on my blog

Edited by Bertie

Your blog is not embedded correctly. If you are really 52 years old, do you think it will be a big shock to them?

You seem to have had pretty decent shock loss and you need to contact the doctor if you have folliculitus. You may need an antibiotic. You can just say you shaved your head and got sun burned because you didn't put on sunscreen there. Or just be honest, at 53 I wouldn't think it would be as big of a deal. If they can tell you have had a HT, it is better to be the honest ht guy than the lying ht guy.

How many grafts did you get?

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

Hi Bertie,