Redness 5 Wks post op

I apologize that the photos are not the greatest of quality but I'm very concerned about the amount of scalp redness. I tried Nazzoral shampoo last night and I believe it has helped with the redness. Is this common? Will this have a negative impact on the final outcome?

0.jpg.9cce2bc754a927946165974e10dc4b02.jpg

1.jpg.05e6f5a8460b668ce68a51eb87097cd6.jpg

At 5 weeks the recipient area looks more red than is normal. This doesn't necessarily mean anything is wrong, you may have very sensitive and pale skin which shows worse than other cases. I can't tell very well from the photos but it seems like you may still have some scabs? If you do you should try and remove them after softening them up with baby oil or warm water. You may want to see your surgeon just to get a check up.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

Yea, I would get in touch with the surgeon and find out if it is infection. It is a little more red than usual. How long have you been applying the toppik? Maybe it may have irritated the area as it contains tiny sheep whool fibers.

BTW, I had redness for quite a while. IF you look at my monthly picture updates/video you'll see. I think everyone just heals differently.

Good Luck.

Edited by Sean

jleb,

I agree with what other members have said so far. It does look unusually red for 5 weeks post-op, but this is not necessarily a sign of infection or problem. If there's any way you can take better quality, high resolution photos, that would be helpful.

It sounds like you've done the right thing by discussing your concerns with your physician and it sounds like you're on the right track to remedy it.