Hair Transplants FUE Vs. FUT

Hi Guys:

Doing some research and would love lots of imput! Can any of you tell me which is the preferred method FUE or FUT and why? Also, when the hair of either transplant grows is it as strong as the normal or regular growing hair? Meaning would a person be able to comb it, cut it, pull at it? Will it grow regularly, like the 1" a month as the ungraphed hair? Thanks for now!

God Bless,

Gingerrogers77 :)

Both are very good options and it also depends on your needs. Typically the FUE yield is lower than FUT so the results are a bit better, but if it's a small treatment FUE makes a lot of sense. The hair that is transplanted is your hair, it will grow normally, you can comb, cut and whatever else you would normally do.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

Thanks for your answers. So the hair will be as strong as the current growing hair? Also, sometimes a snag might pull out a hair (accidentally) are we to treat the transplanted hair delicately and could this affect the growth at all?

Montreal: Can you please expand on your statement? Thanks!

Yes your hair will be as strong. Usually when your hair snags it doesn't get pulled out, but rather it breaks the root is still inside. But if you did pull out the follicle than it will not regrow as it has been completely removed. You only need to be delicate in that area for the first 2 weeks, after that you are fine.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

you will never get hair like you once had,transplanted hair will grow less strong and not always straight.I saw people on this forum with transplanted hair that just curles and it looks awful.Just remember HT is far from being perfect and there is a big risk to take.