Donor scar

If you shave your head to a #1 setting on a razor, the scar from a FUT procedure will be somewhat noticeable, so usually a #2 or #3 are sufficient at hiding it, so about 1/2 inch is enough to hide it well.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

If you shave your head.... the scar..... somewhat noticeable, usually a #2 or #3 are sufficient.......

Dare I say it. Notwithstanding Dr. True's excellent and refined work, in my humble opinion, I find the above to be slightly understated. (especially the 'somewhat' comment)

If I had a signature it would probably be like...

I don't cheer FUE for any other reason than that it offers a line of retreat 10 years down the track. I have issues with FUE only clinics too.

As I presently understand it, FUE cannot be extracted by technicians in most American states (law, plus 'slippery-slide-effect') compelling the doctors to perform the extractions, which in turn shifts the emphasis to strip, which in turn shifts the emphasis to minimizing the scar..etc. if you get my drift.

I don't believe I misrepresented the length necessary to hide a scar. Like I said if you shave to a #1 setting on a razor, it will be noticeable, but with surgery some people heal better than others, so some people can get away with it, but not suggested. A #2 or #3 setting will give you between 1/2 inch-3/4 inch of length and will cover the scar, if the suturing was performed properly.